The studio is silent these days while I get over a nasty cold but I still have a few things to share and mention.

Over the weekend I worked on the upcycling challenge piece for a bit. This one is filled with plastic caps, mirror, ball chain, bottle caps and glass gems. I am enjoying working with the black thin set I mixed up and using it liberally to hold the plastic pieces. No grout on this one. It’s looking pretty good.

Using broken up and cut pieces of mirror to help with the free-flowing
design was an afterthought and one I am happy I had!

This shot is a favorite of mine. The glue is still visible where the ball chain is around the cap
(a wine cap with cut edges to lay flat on the surface).
It bugs me but not enough to rip it up.

I’m enjoying the layers on this. It has gone in a slightly different direction than I had planned but that’s not necessarily a bad thing!

I recently said there were 19 in this challenge group but I was wrong. There are 12 and I’m not the only mosaic artist in it. I learned an online bud, Chris Emmert was also chosen. I’m thrilled she was also chosen! I love Chris’ work!!! Her mosaics are absolutely beautiful. I’m so lucky to rub cyber elbows with her. She rocks (tee-hee) which is a play on words that you will only understand after viewing her mosaics. Here’s her website: http://chrisemmert.com/home.html

Nothing much else is happening in the studio right now but I do have to mention something about Facebook Pages and the fairly new way they’ve changed the format in viewing them on your news feed. I have to admit I’m a bit confused about Interest Lists because I haven’t seen much of a difference in what I see on my feed. I know once I figure out who, how and why I placed the pages where I have, the updates will come at me the way they should although I am not sure I’m missing seeing anything by creating them as of yet. I do think the news feed only shows me people I talk to often and has nothing much to do with the pages I have liked. They all seem to still be there. As FB makes changes a lot, when I realize I haven’t seen comments or new posts for people, places and things I like, I go search out the person/page I’m curious about. I often skip through the news feed altogether and head on over to my favorite pages or people’s profiles when I sign in, so my knowledge of what is and isn’t on the news feed is limited.

My page now has over 500 likes (YAY!!) and it says there are 61 people who actually see it. What this obviously means is that not everyone is getting to see the daily and often multiple updates I do on my page. I have mixed emotions about this. I like to share what I do and if only a few see it, I’m okay with that. It’s there whenever anyone wants to hop on over to take a look. I would be okay with only 1 or 2 people seeing it and commenting daily. A little activity or a lot – it doesn’t make my life any more or less complicated and if it helps to make a sale, that’s awesome but again, it’s okay if it doesn’t. But it is important to share the page with my fellow Etsians and the newer folks who have found me along the way and if they are new and not seeing what I post, then it is a waste of some awesome mosaic goodness! If you like getting all my updates and you haven’t seen them recently on your News Feed on Facebook, you should add my page to an interest list to make sure you see it.

The instructions are fairly simple:

1. Make sure you are on the EarthMotherMosaics business fan page using your computer (it won’t work from a cell phone or mobile device, as I understand it, but I could be wrong),

2. On the right hand side on the screen right next to the “Like” button there is a drop down box.

3. Click on that drop down box and click on the “add to interest list”.

That’s all there is to it. Hope to see you there!

Stay peaceful.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics
©2012 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

