It’s been a slightly more productive week here in the studio.

I wrote a post on the other blog yesterday. I don’t write in it very often, but when I do, I share some personal insights and inspirational thoughts about my life. If you want to see what that’s all about you can find it here: http://theviewfromearth-earthmothermosaics.blogspot.com/ I explain in this one a little about what to expect here in this blog in the future. It could be worth a glance to those who are curious about that.

Studio time has been limited but going well. I worked on the bowl for a bit and got some photos of the progress. I really love the process of how this was made and will have to experiment more with different shapes to see what I can come up with next.

The folds and ripples are challenging but so far I’m working around them. Adding glue to the thin set has given it more of a grip on those areas. I don’t really measure how much or what ratio I use but thin set, white glue (a PVC like Weldbond) and water mixed together make a great combo to hold pieces in place if you’re working on a surface that has waves, ripples, etc. It’s great for any 3-D project using thin set. I have one more color to add to the bowl (iridescent brown) but I think I’ll add another bit of yellow and gold towards the top but it may be just a line here and there and not completely going around the bowl. This is a fun project and taking my time with it is exactly the way I should go with it. It’s messy looking but once grouted and shined up, it’s going to look pretty good. I’m not sure if I’ll gift it, sell it or keep it but whatever I decide to do with it, it’s been an excellent journey. From dreaming about it for a year to actually seeing it completed will be my reward in and of itself.

The trays for the wedding this Saturday are more than half complete. I have 2 more to glue mirror on. 2 are sitting waiting for grout and the paint treatment. I hope to grout those today. I’m going to seal these 4 shown below today.

Some have a lot of mirror on them, some have less. I am fairly sure once in place on the tables with their vases filled with flowers and lights on them they will all look really spectacular. Nothing will outshine the bride, however. I’m so proud of my daughter and soon to be son-in-law. I’m one happy Mother of the Bride!

I made a sale this week! The newest peace sign I added to Etsy recently with it’s awesome vintage purple flower dishes will be headed to it’s new home very soon.

I’ll be creating more things to put into the shop very soon as I’m stepping away from promoting others’ shops at the moment. Again, I’d like to refer to the other blog and it’s recent post for more of an explanation on that.

I definitely have the materials and all the supplies I need to be as creative as I care to be. That is so nice for me to say! Even with limitations, I have all I need. It is absolutely true that if you really want to be creative, no matter your circumstance, you will find a way! I’m living it!!

I certainly haven’t done it on my own. So many friends and family members have contributed to my room filled with things to create mosaics out of. It’s humbling to realize how fortunate I truly am. I’m grateful for it all. I’m one lucky lady!!

Be at Peace.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics
©2012 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

