I found this vintage glass ashtray (circa 1960’s) at the thrift store hidden among a shelf filled with an array of goodies. This was in the back of the shelf and my eye spotted it immediately. I knew I wanted to use it for a sun catcher. When I was looking at the bubbles in the glass, I was torn, however. It was beautiful, just the way it was, but no longer useful for it’s intended purpose. It was an easy decision to use some tempered glass on it and when placed in a sunny window, the glass behind the glass can still be seen. Bubbles and all!

Using bright colors of stained glass in yellow, blue and orange. I added some light iridescent blue glass tiles which were placed along the outer edge and in the center. A clear glass gem was placed in the center. When the sun hits this on either side, it’s magic. Tempered glass or crash glass was placed on the other half and it was grouted in charcoal gray and sealed.

Definitely heavy in weight before I added the mosaic to it. It’s sturdy and solid, weighing a little over 1.5 lbs.

My mosaic sun catcher looks great no matter how you position it or where you place it. I like the last shot the best because the tempered glass looks like a crescent moon, one of my favorite things to make, as you probably all know by now. 🙂

This was a part of a small collection that went to Muncie, Indiana and spent time in a gallery there last year; it is now back and ready to travel to your home!

Measures a little over 7-1/2 inches, mosaic in the center is 6 inches; sides are 1/2 inch high.

As always, recycling and re-purposing items is the goal for me as a crafter. Using items that have been shoved into the back of the shelf and forgotten are brought forward on the shelf again. Often center stage in the light and sun, by giving them a mosaic face lift and loved once again in a new way. Giving them a new purpose. Still useful in an artistic way. Happy, happy me.

Price of $48.95 includes shipping/handling and insurance.

Click on the first photo above to take you to Etsy.

Stay peaceful.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics
©2011 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

