Retro Mosaic Stained Glass Frame w/mirror

“Retro Mosaic Stained Glass Ceramic Polymer Clay Mid-Century Modern Crescent Moon Butterfly Frame with Mirror” as it’s item title describes is my Featured Item for the day. The last retro shaped mirror I’ve got as they are no longer being made (due to high costs of the MDF the wonderful online shop that used to make them had to stop making them) was covered in scraps of stained glass, glass gems and other goodies. I have one more frame that I made using these shapes when I had many of them. I had thought about listing it when I listed this one but I just can’t part with it. Knowing I might not be able to get these cool shapes any longer has made me want to hold onto at least one because they are so cool!

The funny thing about these mirrors is that it’s difficult to get a really good picture showing all the great features in it. I included more photos in my shop on Etsy that show more of the awesome things used to create this piece.

Retro Mosaic Stained Glass Frame w/Mirror

Retro, Groovy, Mod, Geometric, Hip and Cool!!

An assortment of stained glass, mirror, decorative glass, ceramic tiles and a polymer clay butterfly were used for this scrap stained glass mosaic. Grouted in charcoal, sides and back are painted in black glossy acrylic, signed and dated.

Some of the glass pieces in this frame are shaped like geometric crescent moons. The one piece at the top could be a full moon! Use your imagination, spend some time looking at it and you’ll see many fun things. A tree, butterfly, a tile in mother-of-pearl, just to name a few.

In truth, this mirror has a lot of little interesting pieces in it. The egg-shaped ceramic piece of a person in meditative pose was made by fellow Etsian beadfreaky (http://www.etsy.com/shop/beadfreaky). I LOVE using her beads in my mosaics!

Frame measures 11 3/4″ tall by 5 3/4″ wide. Mirror is included. D-ring attached to back.

This picture shows a lot of the detailed work on this frame

Price: $63.75 which includes shipping, insurance and handling.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/earthmothermosaics

I will be sharing another post later this afternoon/early evening with the 4 SOTD (Shops of the Day) from the Promoting Creative Friends Team on Etsy. I think I’ll be making 4 Treasury’s today featuring each shop again. Woo-hoo!

Tomorrow I’ll be posting the round up of Daily Design Picks. “Shabby Chic Holidays” is the theme on tumblr this week. I’m having so much fun finding items to share!

Believe it or not, the gazing balls are at the last leg of their journey here with me. I’ve gotten 3 completely covered in gold mirror waiting for grout, 7 have been completely prepped now and are ready for the same treatment. Today I’ll be starting in on the 4th one. They take about 1-1/2 days to make if I have a lot of interruptions during the day, which is likely. One took exactly a day to get the glass on which is a great thing! It depends on the momentum of the mosaicist too … some days I wait until the afternoon to get to the work table. It’s more important to play with my grandson some times. 🙂

Stay peaceful.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics
©2011 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

