Happy Wednesday. It’s a beautiful Autumn day here in PA!

outside my window: beautiful blue skies and my inspiration tree

What’s New: This week has been dedicated to the custom order. A few weeks are left to get the remaining gazing balls covered in glass and all of them grouted, polished to perfection and sent on their way! Hazzah!!

It’s been a long, long process and I’ve learned so much, not only about how to take very little money and a lot of imagination and actually create something beautiful (times 10), but I learned a lot about myself as well. I don’t give up; I regroup, rethink, reorganize and take the detour to keep moving forward. I bounced ideas off of the fam and used the feedback to find a solution.

I’m proud of myself! Never, not once, did I think: “I can’t do this”.

There was a time when I’d not only try to do it all by myself and verbally beat myself up for failing, but I’d never have even listened to anyone’s ideas or tried things I was not familiar with. I’ve grown a lot as a person because of this custom order. I’m grateful to have been asked to do it.

I don’t ever expect anyone to need to make these in the way I did them but I will share how they were created after the holidays at some point. Lots of experimenting, research and finally decisions were made on the development. I’ll also share links of all the places, once again, that I used to get the supplies I eventually needed. If you’re into this kind of stuff, it’s an interesting tale.

adding colorant to the adhesive (thin set) gives a more uniform look to the gazing balls before they are grouted

The colors in this picture aren’t true for some reason. I did tweak the photo a lot to try to get it more “real” in color but couldn’t. It’s still a nice color combination and as I always say, you can’t truly appreciate my mosaics unless you see them in person!

Etsy: There’s been a lot of activity this week over at Etsy! I joined this great team called Promoting Creative Friends Team and have started becoming active with it this week. Making treasury’s to share the love is a big part of what this team is about. I’m very happy to say that over a 1/2 dozen items of mine have been featured within the past few days in different treasury’s. That’s gotta be some kind of record for me! Definitely a “personal best”. 🙂

As many of you know, my shop was just re-opened in October and I’m starting completely over. As many of you also know, I spend a good amount of time promoting it and my items through Facebook and on the blogs I have. It’s so nice to find teams with the same goals, to help me find new people to gather into my circle, “favorite” an item I’ve made and feature them in their own treasury’s. In turn, I do the same for them. It’s a pleasure! Thank you all for making my week awesome!

I think all the teams I belong to on Etsy are terrific and I’m proud to be apart of each and every one of them. To give them all equal time, the links are:

Promoting Creative Friends Team: http://www.etsy.com/teams/10036/promoting-creative-friends

Creative Mosaics Artists Team: http://www.etsy.com/teams/5739/creative-mosaic-artists-team

123 Treasury Promo Team: http://www.etsy.com/teams/9313/123-treasury-promo-team

Upcyclers: http://www.etsy.com/teams/6610/upcyclers

Blogging Buddies: http://www.etsy.com/teams/7491/blogging-buddies

Etsy Marriage: http://www.etsy.com/teams/8733/etsy-marriage

The last one, Etsy Marriage, is a cool concept. Finding people who make and sell items that compliment yours. You share their links on your page with that item and visa versa. I am still looking for a partner(s) but I’d love to team up with someone who sells scented soy candles to be used with the stained glass luminaries I make. It would also be cool to find a copper and/or metal smith who makes stands for gazing balls.

The one I couldn’t do without is the Creative Mosaic Artists Team. They are my people!! They allow me to ramble daily, if necessary and it always seems to be necessary, about life’s ups and downs and are always supportive. I have been so fortunate to find a large group of people within the Etsy community who are kind, give shoulders when needed, jump with joy when you are featured in a treasury or sell an item, (((hug))) you if you need it. I’d never have gotten through the tough times over the past year without this group and now that times are a little easier, they are right there with me to share in my happiness. Thank you all! ❤

Non-Mosaic Fun: I had some left over thin set again recently so I made more “Chunks of Art”. I have discovered the colorant dries out the thin set if it sits too long a lot faster than it would if I didn’t use it. That, in turn, makes the dried thin set in the molds crumbly and fall apart if I don’t add them to the mold in time. I also learned that metal or aluminum molds (can lids) don’t work too well but plastic ALWAYS does. Because my molds are made using lids from containers mostly and tossed away packaging, sometimes it is a bit of a gamble as to what will happen overnight while the thin set dries. A few times the thin set just fell apart when I tried to get it out of the molds. This is partly due to the fact that I am almost at the bottom of a 50 lb bag of thin set as well. I don’t have a container big enough to hold it all once the bag is open just yet but I know others use the big plastic kitty litter containers (empty of course) for both thin set and grout. I’ve seen people use the big storage containers found at the thrift stores too. Great ideas!!

before and after: a piece of sturdy plastic from a new set of ear buds can be used to create art

When I concluded that using plastic was the only thing to use for a mold in this case, I’ve been able to make quite a few “Chunks of Art” without them falling apart if I get the used thin set in there before it starts to dry out.

The other day I was cutting glass up and using the bottom of the container to hold it and had the lid with thin set in it drying from the night before. Once it was dried completely I popped it out, cleaned off the lid and plopped it right back on the container, holding the cut pieces of glass securely. Gotta love the versatility of it all!

future fridge magnet

small but awesome wall art!

"Chunks of Art" - small wall art - these could make great stocking stuffers!

The last two will get hangers on them. I love them all but the very last one is my favorite. On these, I used permanent marker, acrylics and toothpicks. 🙂

Stay peaceful.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

©2011 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

