Wow, it’s Wednesday already! This week is just zooming!! It won’t be long now. Halloween will be here before you know it! My grandson knows after you get to dress up in a cool costume and get tons of candy, we then have a day where we eat a really big chicken and watch some football and then, the greatest time of all, Santa comes! This is screeched loudly and he often jumps up and down as he explains this to me. He is SOOO excited!! Seeing the world through a 4 year old’s eyes is wondrous and amazing. He’s pretty awesome.

Malachi and I ... just chillin' around some mosaics

What’s new?: I’ve been happy with the way the gazing ball prep work is progressing. It is continuing nicely but there’s nothing new to show just yet. That’s why I shared some pretty pics I took of the handmade basket (circa 1990) I weaved and painted filled with pine cones and leaves I collected on a recent walk. Mosaics and that awesome framed scrap piece of stained glass that I love so much are around it too, of course.

I thought I’d share some websites in conjunction with this custom order to help those who may wonder which sites I prefer to use. I do have many more sites I enjoy visiting and ordering from but this time, for this order, the best places are listed below.

The sheets of glass mirror I am using mostly came from http://www.delphiglass.com/. They almost always have a great turnaround time and a large selection of glass, tools and supplies. Prices are reasonable and once in a while you can get lucky, like I did, and catch a great sale!

lots of beautiful mirror to cut into triangles!

I love their paper catalog. I spend hours looking through all the goodies when it arrives. Filled with “how-to” books and videos, tools, supplies, grinders, glass, etc. More than a little bit of time goes into making it, I spend more than a little bit of time enjoying it!

The colorant I buy is always from http://www.marylandmosaics.com/. They are the best and I mean the BEST with getting your order to you with lightening speed. I always have a great experience with them and they send a little gift with each order. Gotta love that. They have a great selection of tools, supplies and tiles.

test board to get the colorant just right

Etsy: I’ve been fortunate enough to have had an item featured in a new treasury each week since I re-opened my shop. That may not mean much to those who don’t know Etsy too well but it is a great honor to be found and chosen as one of 16 featured shops when there are so many creative artisans and gifted shop owners on the site.

I spend a lot of time looking for new shops and items to “favorite” because I make quite a few treasury’s myself during the week and I use an item every day for my themed weeks on tumblr. I spend hours some nights just searching for one item to use for the next theme. It is a lot of fun to make treasury’s but don’t let anyone tell you it’s easy! The more shops there are, the more choices you have.

I believe the right photo gets you noticed. I mentioned before that I have become a bit snobbish when it comes to picking items for the treasury’s. If the photo is fuzzy, dark or distorted in some way, it won’t be used even if I love the item.

This week my custom ordered gazing balls were featured in a treasury with the title: “Dancing In The Moonlight”. I think my item was noticed because of the photo I used to show what can be done when those interested want a custom ordered gazing ball. That photo shows a shiny star and the reflective look of the glass and mirror in the sunlight as it plays against the wall. I love this photo and was really glad I put it on Etsy. I used it for my business cards the last time I had them made. It was one of those moments that made me happy I had my camera handy!

The “light play” from the glass and mirror in the sun is something I see every sunny day in my room now. I have gazing balls placed in all the areas where the sun shines the brightest and the room looks magical!

“Spring Equinox”

This particular ball was given to my grandson’s Mom-Mom and Pop-Pop and I spent a lot of time getting it ready for the Spring Equinox in 2010 so that they could have it for their garden. Using mesh for a moon, star, flower and sun, I glued them and added recycled mirror and stained glass in an array of colors on a discarded bowling ball. In return, they gave me 3 or 4 bowling balls to do more mosaics on. That’s a pretty sweet deal!

I hope you have a great week and find the time to do something special for yourself. Life will start to get more hectic as the months progress. Take the time to rest when you need it and enjoy yourself!

Stay peaceful.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics
©2011 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

