In keeping with what seems to be becoming a theme for me, I found a fantastic artist who creates butterflies, dragonflies and flowers using barbed wire and metal. All of those lovely things seem to be finding me without my having to look very hard. If you follow the blog or my Facebook page you know I’ve donated a butterfly recently, made one for my grandson with the pull tab wings, and just made a flower and dragonfly to donate within the next few weeks. I like this theme!

This week the featured item is coming from an Etsy shop. merritthyde, Merritt Hyde – Rustic Original Art & Gifts has some of the most unique handmade items I’ve seen in a long time. The use of recycled materials is what made these things become interesting for me but what made me stay and search her entire inventory are the colors!

Her profile says: “rusted barn tin, old wood and barbwire become works of art and beauty while still retaining a sense of history and character”. How cool is that?

Please welcome Merritt’s art to your world and take a slow look through her shop. The whimsy involved in creating her art is similar to the folk art that appeals to me. The colors are bright and trendy; although I’m not fond of following trends, I have to say some of the colors being used right now in home decor and handmade art is fresh and appealing. I seem to gravitate towards green … it’s an earth color after all. If that makes it trendy, then so be it!

The designs are simple. Each item is something we all could find a place for in our home or give anyone as a gift. I love her original style!

Merritt’s Etsy shop has become an instant favorite of mine. I will visit often!

It wasn’t easy to find a favorite piece to feature here today. Many things caught my eye and I could say the entire inventory in the shop is a favorite. However, one, mostly because of the color, caught my eye right away.

© Merritt Hyde Rustic Original Art & Gifts

Isn’t this awesome?! It has a wire attached so it can be hung on the wall or used as a magnet. Perfect!!

Please visit Merritt’s shop and let her know if you found her here through this blog.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/merritthyde

I’ll be busy in the studio because the humidity has lifted which means my mosaics are just about dry enough to grout this weekend. Woo-hoo!

Next week I start prep work on the gazing balls. That should take about a month to complete before I can start the fun of adding the gold mirror to them but I will be creating small mosaics in between to keep the muse happy! As usual, as I make them, I’ll be adding photos to the flickr photostream and sharing them as I do.

Have a great weekend!!

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

©2011 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

