This week has been filled with different activities. Family time is a daily part of my new routine once again now and the most exhausting fun. My grandson is a wonderful ball of energy and curiosity and more than a little mischievous. But I also made time this week for supply shopping and mosaic time in between it all.

And believe it or not, I’m still unpacking supplies from my move and trying to find space for it. I’ve accumulated a lot in a few short years, even after sorting through it, giving away much and leaving some things behind for curb pickup (such a sad moment), I still have more than I can put into one room although I continue to try. I have tons of things in boxes in my room which also serves as my studio that still need to be sorted through and organized. Many are still in storage. I’m working on it! It is wonderful for me to have all of these inspiring things around me again. They are well loved and cherished treasures that will become, I hope, mosaics for others to love and cherish some day.

floor next to the dresser I use as a work area

just a small selection of dishes and boxes filled with glass shards in front of the dresser ... I WILL find room for them all

The butterfly mural installation at the Calusa Nature Center has begun in Florida. You can follow the progress on the blog. I suggest reading previous posts to see where the installation is being done and view all the pretty butterflies that were donated. It’s going to look fantastic when it’s finished! Eve Lynch is doing an amazing job. Check it out!

http://butterfly-project.blogspot.com/

And speaking of donations, I made a few quick mosaics on 4×4 inch MDF to send off to Muncie, IN.  I received an email a few days ago asking for donations either through artwork or money to help support Tori’s Butterfly Garden Foundation, Inc for the Fine Arts, Gardening and Nature. I really wanted to be a part of this. I’m so glad they said yes when I asked if they’d take a few small mosaics!

Tori’s Butterfly Garden Foundation, Inc was founded in March of this year after the tragic death of six year old, Tori Whetzel, from complications one day after having her tonsils and adenoids removed. This touched me deeply … my grandson is only a few years younger than Tori was when she passed away. Tori’s Foundation will be holding a silent auction in September as part of the “National Art in Education Week”. Here’s what I’m sending them:

Swirl - WIP

Heart under glass - WIP

If you’re interested in reading Tori’s story and finding info about the Foundation, the website is:

http://www.torisbutterflygarden.org/

You can follow them on Facebook. They are posting the artwork on the page as they receive it:

https://www.facebook.com/torisbutterflygarden

Both of these will be grouted this weekend if the glue is completely dry. I used white glue that often takes time to dry; especially when the weather is humid. The swirl will probably have a paint wash on it in a few colors. I’ll share photos once they are both finished.

I like using PVA glue for MDF but with the rain and humid weather it takes a little longer to dry than some other glues. I use an adhesive made specifically for glass-on-glass projects like my candle holders and sun catchers called MAC glue but I am running low on it and using what I have available until I can get more.

I started getting supplies for the custom order this week. It’s so exciting to see a huge bag of styrofoam balls waiting to be treated for mosaic goodness! What’s sitting here isn’t impressive at all to the untrained eye but to me it looks like tons of creative fun! The photo below shows the styrofoam balls which are 6 inches in diameter. Once completely covered in plaster wrap (on the left of the spheres), thinset and a waterproof membrane (on the right of the spheres), gold mirror and grout, they will be 12 inches in diameter!

I picked the 6 inch balls up today at the craft store and had trouble finding enough of the 8 or 10 inch balls, which I would have preferred to work with. So, I’ll build these up to size and measure many, many times to make sure they are exact! This will be much more time consuming but something I suspected I’d have to do. I was prepared for it. By the time I’m finished with a few, I’m fairly sure it will be really easy to do the prep!! 🙂

Once the gold mirror I ordered online for the custom order comes in I will be busy making the gazing balls for the next few months.

supplies are being gathered for the custom order

I made a few more glass-on-glass mosaics building up the inventory. Inspiration comes and goes, but right now it’s in full throttle, which means I will take advantage of it for as long as I can! The glue on these are also still wet … mosaics are a great way to learn patience. No grout will go on these either until I know the glue is dry!

peace candle plate or sun catcher - WIP

blue glass candle plate and/or sun catcher - WIP

square and small round candle holders

I know, in between working on the spheres, I will be working on other things. I’m enjoying the new wave of creativity and try to work on something every day, even if it’s just for 10-15 minutes a few times a day. I know it’s important to keep the flow going but it’s also great fun and wonderfully relaxing to work on mosaics. I look forward to it every single day. Life is good!

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

©2011 Cindy White, EarthMotherMosaics

