I love flea markets! You can find so many cool things, especially if you create mosaics. One of the things I always stop to look at, are the pieces of folk art I find along the way. During this heat wave, it is delightful to be able to sit by my computer with a large glass of cool water and surf Etsy to find some fun things to share. Normally, a day at the flea market would give me some great inspiration and/or some treasures to add to my home decor. One of my favorites to look for, especially here in PA, is folk art. There are many talented artists who create new items and have a knack for creating folk art.

By definition, according to dictionary.com, folk art is: “artistic works, as paintings, sculpture, basketry, and utensils, produced typically in cultural isolation by untrained often anonymous artists or by artisans of varying degrees of skill and marked by such attributes as highly decorative design, bright bold colors, flattened perspective, strong forms in simple arrangements, and immediacy of meaning.” I have learned that laboring tradespeople were the most often associated with creating this kind of art in the 1920’s and it can also be called “tramp art”. My Dad made some mirrors in that style using wood he cut out into shapes. I have one of them and truly love it. It’s safely tucked away in storage right now but as soon as it makes an appearance after digging through all the packed boxes, I will take a picture of it to share the one I have.

I am still learning the process of my own form of folk art. I try to make folk art mosaics whenever the mood strikes. The last time I made a birdhouse shown below:

This particular piece is now at Tara’s Country Cottage in Skippack Village, PA.

I had fun searching through Etsy this morning looking for folk art. Inspiration comes in waves and I’m feeling, once again, inspired to try another piece of mosaic folk art! I am personally drawn towards the Mexican Folk Art pieces because of their colors. They are just beautiful!

Here are some vintage pieces and some new items alone the fun and sometimes funky folk art theme I have found to be inspiring.

http://www.etsy.com/treasury/Njc4MzQzOXw0OTE1NzgxNDc/wonderful-folk-art

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

