April 17-April 24, 2011:

Treasury I curated:

Great Items on Sale by earthmothermosaics

ANNOUNCEMENT:

As I’m winding up into a transition period, there will be less activity shared regarding mosaics and shop information. I’m starting the process of moving. I haven’t yet figured out where I’m headed but I am taking the time I normally use to create during the week and using it for sorting through a few years’ worth of “stuff”.

In the meantime, I am working on one mosaic and will continue to work on something up until the last day of moving. I learned it’s very necessary for me to do this.

Last week I decided to stop mosaic work until I was settled in the new place (which could take a few months or less) but I missed it and found myself needing the quiet reprieve to calm my brain a bit from all this stress around me. So much turmoil, angst and worry, excitement, thoughts of starting over and accepting changes as a good thing are all emotions in any given minute. Meditating helps with breathing and soothing the chatter in my head but the calming effect mosaic work has on me is undeniable. It’s a necessary part of me now.

I pulled a WIP (work-in-progress) glass-on-glass project out of the box I had packed last week and worked on it a little bit yesterday. I could actually feel my stress level reduce. It has to be something I do for my health as well as my well-being every chance I get. Especially now. I’m working on a salvaged 14 inch microwave plate using stained glass to create a sun catcher once grouted. It will be placed in a plate stand near a window. They are always so pretty in different kinds of light. This one is called “Pathways” aptly dubbed by a fellow mosaic artist. It describes my life at the moment perfectly.

old microwave plate will get a new life as a sun catcher

I will post pictures of the mosaics I work on during this time, as usual, on flickr and sharing them here when I can. Once the one I’m working on is complete, I know I have to start on something else maybe a little smaller in scale but maybe not!

I have taken all items off of ArtFire and have started the same thing with Etsy. However if there is something you want and can’t find in my shop, send me an email and let me know. Just because it is no longer in the shop(s) doesn’t mean it’s been sold. It’s most likely packed away ready to go into storage.

Also, although moving and packing is taking up most of my time, I’m looking for a few part time jobs to fill in the money gaps that have recently taken place (business is slow!) and to help gather funds for moving. That means I’m still taking custom orders and commissions when I can get them and for the local folks in and around Montgomery County, PA, if you hear of anything part time, let me know. I am not built for retail or customer service (I don’t know how you folks do it!!) but there are other things I can do. Just shoot me an email at earthmothermosaics@yahoo.com any time.

Tomorrow I will do the Monday Treasury and share some items I find as usual.

Have a great week, Happy Passover and Happy Easter for those who celebrate them.

I’ll write another post next Sunday giving you the low down on how the week has gone. Meanwhile you can always check on flickr to see the progress of my work as I continue.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

