This week, the studio has mostly been dark due to paperwork and prepping for things to come in the months ahead. But I did finish up some small mosaics. I have shared a few.

Some upcoming events may include one impromptu visit to my hometown, Lambertville, NJ to share some mosaics during the weekend of the Shad Fest. It is a great time for many to have garage sales in town and last year I had a fantastic time hanging out with my cousin on her porch with a table filled with mosaics to share. The Shad Fest runs the weekend of April 30-May 1. Also included: an American Classics Festival fundraiser in Phoenixville, PA on April 2nd and the Allentown Artifest MultiCultural Event where I hope to share my mosaics and do demonstrations on June 11th-12th. This event asks for vendors to donate a piece of art for a silent auction which of course is right up my alley. I’ll share work-in-progress when I start.

I’m sending in an application to be in the artist registry for the Office of Arts, Culture and the Creative Economy as part of the City of Philadelphia’s Public Art Program. I want to thank the three people who accepted my request to be a professional reference for me so that I can get into the database. I’m so lucky to know such generous, giving people. The public art concept is all new to me but I’m always eager to learn. The first step is to register and then find some things to do to help expand my creative wings in this area. Luckily I’m within driving distance of one of the best teachers on the planet, Isaiah Zagar, who inspires many with his Philadelphia’s Magic Garden.

http://www.phillymagicgardens.org/

Registering for a workshop with him is one of the goals. The next step is to become a member of the Philly Magic Garden. 🙂

I’ve gathered up a small display of mosaic work to take to a consignment shop this weekend. Hopefully the shop owner will find a few things she wants to take for display. Tara’s Country Cottage in Skippack, PA is minutes from my home but I’ve yet to visit. I’m looking forward to meeting her and seeing her shop. Next week I’ll tell you all about it.

March 17th starts the excitement and fun here in EarthMotherMosaics land when I’ll be showing the basics of mosaic coaster making to a small group of people at MALT. The student count so far is at 8 which is awesome! More are welcome if you live in the area. It’s always so much fun! I will share a few photos for the virtual scrapbook when I can. All the class info for the coming months can be found in the blog posted on March 4th. Hope to see you there!

As I mentioned, I was able to do a few small things in the studio this past week. A few aren’t ready for their debut just yet but should be soon enough. I’m starting to work on pieces I want to take to the festivals but some are the small freebies I like to give to students once they’ve completed a class. I managed to get the ones who are ready to shine hung up and photographed. A group shot shows just how evolved my very own solar system is becoming. As you can see, the new circles I just made are a nice addition. And I am always happy when I am in the living room looking at this wall. It makes me happy to see how much I’ve grown creatively. Next to my family, mosaics are my life. I’m so blessed to have found them and am thankful every single day that I have.

My Solar System

Mosaic Sun and Stars - 7 inch MDF

Mosaic Crescent Moon and Hanging Star - 5 inch MDF

4 Star Mosaic - 3 inch MDF

This grouping came about after reading a quote recently that I had written down almost a year ago: ‎“Keep your eyes on the stars, and your feet on the ground.”~Theodore Roosevelt

I finished up the folk art birdhouse this week. Some of the tiles fell off as I was grouting which didn’t surprise me. That particular day I had mixed up the thinset before deciding on what dishes to use. By the time I was ready to use them all, the thinset had already started to dry out. By the time I got to the last section, it became more difficult to use but instead of mixing up a fresh batch for such a small section left to do, I forged ahead with what I had. All this means is that some of the embellishments I wasn’t sure I was going to use on it will be used now. This is how it looks at the moment. When I add the finishing touches, I’ll share more photos. As you can see from the photos below, there are gaps that will need some bling added to them. I love digging through the old broken jewelry stash I have to use in this way.

So many have been getting in to the spirit of Spring and cleaning their studios. Right now I’m working in 3 different spots in my apartment: the living room, the kitchen and a spare bedroom. The spare room is mostly just for storage, the living room has boxes and a full cabinet of supplies, stained glass and tiles, the kitchen table is the grouting area. I’m feeling overwhelmed by it all and would love to get things in each area more organized. I often lose the enthusiasm for creating when I have to spend an hour or more digging through things haphazardly places in all three areas. I’ve had a rough winter fighting an emotional battle many fight with seasonal depression. With the fresh approach of spring comes the renewed thoughts of starting over and I’m so glad to feel the fog lifting even if just slightly. I haven’t yet found the energy to begin my spring cleaning but once I do, I know I will feel so much better both mentally and spiritually. It will be a great feeling to get some things packed up that aren’t being used at the moment and get that renewed feeling of inspiration. Hopefully I’ll find it soon.

I hope you gave yourself some time to be creative this week. No matter what your creative talent is.

Have fun, stay safe and always enjoy the moments.

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

All Rights Reserved©2011 EarthMotherMosaics

