I have always known that I have a good eye for color and design. Creating a beach framed mosaic mirror recently for a customer, made me fall in love with themed rooms all over again! Growing up, I always thought it would be cool to have a huge house with a different theme in each room. I used to take photos from magazines and cut them out, paste them in scrap books and label them as “beach house” or “piano room”. I was thinking the other day how cool it would be to do that now. Maybe it would confuse people but it would please me. I’d have different styles in each and every one of them! A black and white room (with a piano, of course!), a Victorian room, a garden room, a retro room filled with furniture from the 70’s and of course a vintage beach room…maybe two! If I had the resources now, I’d be decorating homes for others as well as my own, mosaicking the walls, tables and other furniture in whatever theme we wanted, giving new life to old lamps and creating my own brand of home decor with fun mosaic art pieces and still have time to add a room full of themed decor found at such shops as these. I love to dream!!

http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4d215df831316d918d4682d0/beach-decor-dreaming

Getting back into the swing of things for the new year has been slow going – I’m still fighting a bit of the flu bug but it hasn’t stopped me from planning and continuing with new and exciting adventures for EarthMotherMosaics. As things happen, I will of course share them here and on Facebook. The year has just begun and if I need a little time to rest to enjoy the fun ahead, so be it!

One of the fun things that happened on the last day of 2010, was sharing a photo of a work-in-progress of a retro frame mosaic mirror I was working on with dish tiles on flickr and having someone contact me about it, asking where it was headed because they loved it! I sold it to them before it was finished! What a great way to end the year! Here’s a photo of the frame getting ready for it’s trip out to it’s new home.

Enjoy the rest of your week. Make it creative!

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

