Last night was the final session of the adult education mosaics basics class at Keith Valley Middle School in Horsham, PA. What a joy it was to see these ladies working on their finishing touches to create two coasters. They each took a turn learning to use the abrasive stone, how to mix grout and add sealant to their finished pieces and when the evening came to an end, I was so pleased to see their mosaics and their smiles. They all did a great job!

Next week is the 3 week intermediate class and I’m looking forward to meeting some new people and I’ll be seeing some returning students as well! Yay!!

I’m not sure who has more fun, the instructor or the students, but I can say for certain that it’s all been a positive experience. I’m very proud to be a part of sharing my love of mosaics with so many wonderful people. I thank you all!

I’ve been working on my donation piece for the mosaic online auction and exhibition happening next year for Doctors Without Borders being coordinated by the amazing Lin Schorr. I will share more information about this event in the near future. Here are a few photos of the work-in-progress (WIP). This is on a 10×10 wooden framed mirror.

Etsy and ArtFire have been updated to include a Mandala I’ve made on a discarded microwave plate. I love repurposing/upcycling as often as I can! If you have time to look in my shops, you’ll see some things have been rearranged. There aren’t quite as many pendants as there were either. Some have been sold (woo-hoo!) and some are going to be part of a sale towards the end of October and will then be “retired” for a while to pave the way for a new series next year.

I just ordered a ceramic sphere from one of my favorite Etsy shops: http://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtfulMosaicSupplies – check out her wonderful array of MDF shapes and mosaic supplies. This is the wonderful person who provides the MDF coasters for me when I teach. She is also a very talented artist and I’m proud to call her my friend. I’m excited to work on this sphere and I do believe I’ll be ordered more from her in the future! She does great work!!

I also found a fantastic artist who makes ceramic buttons and just received a wonderful array of pieces that will be incorporated into my jewelry as well as many mosaics. Most were custom made to exclude a hole or two like most buttons have so that I can use them in mosaics. She was a joy to work with and her turn around time is incredible! Check her shop out as well here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/beadfreaky – here’s a small sample of what I just received. I can’t wait to create with them!

I may have one additional blog post in a few days in association with a new ArtFire Collection I’m creating. The vibe on that site has been a positive one and I’m happy to be a part of the store front community. Lots of nice people and some really nice items.

As usual, on Monday, there will be a new Etsy Treasury to see.

Have a wonderfully creative week!

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

