This week in the studio has been spent working on top secret things!

I am taking part in a wonderful “gift it forward” offer that started last year on Facebook called “Make 5”. The premise is to offer up 5 gifts of your choicing to the first 5 to respond to your offer. In exchange they must post their own “Make 5” offer. It was a lot of fun to see all the creative things coming through as the months progressed and how happy and excited all the recipients were, including me, to receive their gift. It headed over to my flickr community a while back and I wasn’t able to join in at that time, but had a small window this past month and wanted to offer it up. I also decided not to put myself on any lists to receive this time around. I just wanted to give and offered up to 10. I truly do love to give away mosaics!! I have 8 people on my list and have completed 5 mosaics so far. Once they have been received I can share the photos of them here but until then, I have to keep it a secret!

I have made some small jewelry boxes that are in the pre-grout stage. I think they will be grouted later today and once they are, they will be posted on flickr if you’d like to see them completed. These are going to my daughter’s friend who has started her own business doing jewelry parties, as an incentive to buy the most and for those who win the games she provides. She is like a daughter to me and I’m more than happy to give her these small tokens of love. I may play with some new tints for grout with these so take a look on the photostream to see the result.

for Meghan

ready for grout!

I am doing a trade with another Etsian who likes my pendants and I her pottery! This one came out of the blue after I ordered one of her fantastic peace symbol mugs. To see Emily’s store front go to: http://www.etsy.com/shop/MoorefieldPottery and take a look around.

Drawing and designing don’t come naturally to me, but I have been doing both for the upcoming donations projects. It is good to stretch your skills a bit and although I often veer off in a new direction and don’t following them, drawing some outline designs helps to get the creative juices flowing. Both will be mentioned more within the next few weeks as they get closer to completion and I can share a photo or two.

A mosaics and stained glass forum I am involved with is doing an exchange as well. This one is for vases! I have a few plain glass vases at my disposal and am excited to get working on one for someone. That, too, can’t be shown until it’s been received.

The holidays are fast approaching and there will be some new items in the shops as well as one more sale in the coming months. Meanwhile I am starting to gather materials to work on the family gifts and that will keep me fairly busy for a while.

On Monday I will post a new Etsy Treasury. This one is all about vintage items I found while searching for the previous Treasury goodies. Some are really very cool and deserve their own Treasury!

Have a wonderfully creative week!

☼-EarthMotherMosaics

